2013. november 21., csütörtök

Call for papers: OPCA 3

Oxford Postgraduate Conference in Assyriology (OPCA)
April 25-26 2014

The organisers of the third annual ‘Oxford Postgraduate Conference in Assyriology' wish to extend an invitation to all European and overseas students whose research relates to the field of Assyriology. The aim of the conference is to provide a forum for students at postgraduate level to present their research to a group of peers and to establish connections with colleagues.

The first and second Postgraduate Conferences in Assyriology, sponsored by the Lorne Thyssen Research Fund for Ancient World Topics at Wolfson College, University of Oxford (2012 -2013), and an outreach grant by British Institute for the Study of Iraq (2013), were held at Wolfson College, Oxford. Growing from 2012, last year’s conference included participants from the U.K., Europe, the Middle East and South America.

The two-day conference will be held at Wolfson College, Oxford from Friday afternoon 25 April to Saturday evening 26 April, 2014. The format will allow each speaker 20 minutes followed by 10 minutes for questions. Presentations will take place on Friday from 13:00 to 18:00 with one break for refreshments, and on Saturday from 9:00 to 18:00 with breaks for lunch and refreshments. Keynote speakers will be Dr. Kevin Cathcart (Campion Hall, Oxford; Emeritus professor, Dublin) and Dr. Christopher Metcalf (JRF, Wolfson College, Oxford).

Conference attendance, refreshments, lunch, and wine reception will be provided at no cost; however, space permits a limited number of people, chosen on a first come basis. We request registered interest and titles of presentations no later than February 25th 2014. If you wish to attend and/or present at the conference, please write to opca at orinst.ox.ac.uk.

We will be awarding limited travel and accommodation bursaries on a competitive basis. In order to be considered for a bursary, you must include your CV and an abstract of your paper in application to opca at orinst.ox.ac.uk by the above deadline. Bursaries will be chosen by an independent selection committee consisting of Dr. Frances Reynolds (Oxford), Dr. Martin Worthington (Cambridge), and Dr. Marie-Christine Ludwig (SOAS).

Nincsenek megjegyzések: